maioir.blogg.se

How to install nvidia drivers on alienware m17x
How to install nvidia drivers on alienware m17x





There is no BIOS option to specifically disable optimus if that could be causing the issue. All it has on it currently is a fresh install of Windows 7 ultimate, which I haven't even logged into yet. I'm installing onto a fresh SSD with no previous grub / Linux installations. Graphics: 2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680M Memory - 12288 1600 MHz Dual Channel DDR3 Processor i7-3740QM (6MB Cache, up to 3.7Ghz w/ Turbo Boost 2.0) (this is disabled in the BIOS currently) The laptop specs are: Alienware M17x: Standard base No further than this, and certainly not to the point where I can select any other options. The furthest the installation has gotten is simply to the Ubuntu splash screen with the little boxes underneath. I have also tried installing using 'nomodeset' and on one occasion 'acpi=off' without success. I have tried standard 'legacy boot' and UEFI booting, following the respective forum guides for each. I boot from a 12.10 ISO and I can get to the installer, however no matter which options I select (try Ubuntu or install) the installation process starts and eventually I get a black screen and the computer just hangs there indefinitely. I would describe myself as quite familiar with Linux and Linux installations and I use Ubuntu every day at work, however I have been completely unable to install 12.10 on my new alienware laptop at home.







How to install nvidia drivers on alienware m17x